A Rumor of War

With Ken Burns and Lynn Novak’s new documentary miniseries The Vietnam War. I though it was the perfect time to re-read the seminal memoir of Vietnam. It was written by Phillip J. Caputo that came out at the time at the right time when America was turning the tide on how they thought about Vietnam. Rumor of War has been published in 15 languages and has sold over 2 million copies. When I first read it it was for school I took a class on the US in the 60s  each week we were to read and bring in a book review on the book for the week and we’d discuss what them in class. So when I first read it I mostly skimmed it so to get through it in a week and wrote up a book review on it that way. However this time I got around to actually going through and read it, it was a plus to have all the knowledge from the miniseries fresh in my mind as well as some of the things I didn’t understand as well when I first read it. If you were intrigued to go any deeper into The Vietnam War A Rumor of War is the classic solider memoir and provides a unique perspective to the conflict.

