Flannery O’Connor

As I’ve been working my way through War and Peace, I have been also reading my collected works of Flannery O’Connor. Sure she is one of the big names in Southern Literature but to me she more universal. Sure she is also another Catholic author and yes this is another collection of short stories. I seem drawn to short stories more and more as the years go by. I wanted to read something from O’Connor since it is referenced on the television program Lost, which had a lot of literary references. O’Connor’s best known the short stories “A Good Man is Hard to Find” and “Good Country People” but she should really be known for more than those two. Yet these are the two that most often get anthologized and used in like a general literature course at a University level. If you ever have a chance to read more than these two stories I would highly recommend it. There is also a prayer book by Flannery O’Connor that came out a couple of years ago, which goes deeper into her faith life supposedly.

Leave a Reply

