Pearl Harbor

Today marks 75 years since the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor. It was a brutal day as FDR put it “a date which will live in Infamy.” This event has been made into numerous films, From Here to Eternity and Michael Bay’s Pearl Harbor. The Smithsonian has an interesting story of that day and a Sikorsky JRS-1 a plane which the American flew to find the Japanese that day.  On the path to the USS Arizona Memorial there is a small plaque with a prayer/poem which Eleanor Roosevelt carried with her throughout the war.

Dear Lord,

Lest I continue
My complacent way,
Help me to remember
Somehow out there
A man died for me today.
As long as there be war,
I then must
Ask and answer
Am I worth dying for?

Leave a Reply

