Third Sunday of Easter

This week before getting to the readings Pope Francis released his second Apostolic Exhortation Amoris Laetitia (The Joy of Love) I will be following His Holiness advice and taking my time to read through the whole thing and will offer some comment about it soon.

The readings the week come from Acts 5:27-32, 40b-41; Psalm 30; Revelation 5:11-14; and John’s Gospel 21:1-19.

It seems to me that the common thread of the readings this week is vocation.  This is clearly seen in the Gospel where we have the part where Jesus asks Peter “Do you love me?” Peter replies “Yes, Lord you know I do” Jesus answers back “Feed my sheep” and asks Peter again “Do you Love me?” Peter answers the same Jesus replies “Tend my sheep” then asks Peter a third time “Do you Love me?”. Peter is livid at begin asked a third time and says “Lord you know everything, you know that I love you” Jesus replies “Feed my sheep” then this reading end with Jesus telling Peter to “Follow me.” This is an experience that we all have when we go to Mass we encounter Christ and he asks us “Do you love me?” and tells us to Follow Him. Let us go out to feed and tend the sheep out in the world and follow in the footsteps of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

