2131 at 20

I’m just going to leave this here.

Two decades ago Cal Ripken Jr. broke the unbreakable record in baseball Lou Gehrig’s streak of 2130 consecutive games. The Iron Horse was out done by the Iron Man who went an extra 500 some games before he finally took a day off. It now truly is unbreakable since it seems like ballplayers are taking days off or getting injured I think the current active streak is in the 100s.  Cal Ripken Jr. is my favorite baseball player and growing up I had his poster on my wall, being the biggest Baseball star on my local team and is considered one of the great shortstops in Major league history, if there were a Mount Rushmore of shortstops Ripken would be on it.  If you’ve never heard of Cal Ripken Jr. please go read about him. Now hearing that this took place 20 years ago made me realize how old I am, since I remember this event happening.

Many people have said that this event saved baseball. As some may remember  that the 1994 season ended with the strike and perhaps began the process in leading a team to Washington DC, as the Expos were many say World Series bound, but that’s for another time.

Leave a Reply

