Windows 10

One of the biggest news stories last week was that Microsoft was going to be giving Windows 10 for free to anyone who had Windows 7 or 8 for free. As it seems like they will begin to treat Windows like a service sort of like how Apple has done with the OSX updates. The consumer has already paid for the OS why charge them over again the 100 or so dollars for the same thing. I think this also has to do with the number of people on tablets, and the updates that they get for free as well since I doubt that many people are going to go out and get a new tablet just because the android OS or IOS has a new version.

When Windows first announced that it was working on a new Operating System I was set to get a new computer whenever it came out. My computer is the one I got for college and it still has Windows XP on it, so I was waiting patiently for that summer release for all the colleges to make the new system a requirement for computers, if they still do that? My computer is over a decade old so it doesn’t match the minimum requirements for either system by a long shot.  But since the news came out I might actually go and get a new computer earlier than that, just because I know that I won’t be left with an older OS in a matter of months since Windows 10 will be a free update. It all boils down to should I get Windows 7 or 8.1, any suggestions? Sure, I doubt that I will be rushing out to get a new computer in the next couple of weeks, but the price watch has begun in earnest.

Leave a Reply

