Saving Mr. Banks and Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2

I got around to seeing these movies finally and all in all they were pretty good.

Saving Mr. Banks is the story of the making of Mary Poppins or at least the fortnight trip P.L Travers took to LA as Disney tried to get the rights to make a movie based on Mary Poppins, or at least that is what the film depicts. I must begin with saying that Mary Poppins was one of the like five or so films that me and my sisters watched repeatably as children, so the premise of the film a behind the scenes look at the making of Mary Poppins had me interested. Adding Tom Hanks to the mix as Walt Disney was another reason to see it. The film itself was interesting as it tells two parallel stories Disney trying to get the right for the film and Travers own youth in Australia. I didn’t know much about Travers before I saw the film and learn a bit about her. It is interesting to see the influence that her father had on the creation of Mary Poppins perhaps. It made me want to watch Mary Poppins again and pay attention to George Banks.  I can’t say for certain because Disney was the studio making the film and did a little Disney-fication to the story, you can read about what really happened online.  As it is well known that P.L. Travers disliked the film and refused Disney or anyone in fact to have rights to turn Mary Poppins into anything, it was only thanks to mega-producer Cameron Mackintosh, who got the stage rights for Mary Poppins in 1993 that we can thank for the wonderful stage musical which debuted about a decade later in 2004.

Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs is one of my favorite children’s books and I’ve read it over a dozen times so I was giddy that they were making an animated film based on it. I saw the first film when it came out in 2009 and it was a different take on the whole story. They (Phil Lord and Chris Miller) took the idea of food falling from the sky and made a whole new story about it, perhaps explaining the events that take place in the book. So when I heard there was a sequel coming out I was intrigued, I surmised it wasn’t going to be based on Pickles from Pittsburgh, what could happen next in the world they created. It was a real surprise to learn that the sequel told a pretty decent story with the foodimals, but in the end the movie feels like the last one with the whole we do great things together with friends. This is a great message and sure it’s a kids movie but I was expecting a little more. All in all if you liked the first one you are sure to like this sequel. While reading up about this film I learn that there is a third book in the series called Planet of the Pies and have added it to my reading list.

One thought on “Saving Mr. Banks and Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2

Leave a Reply

