The Nativity

Mary comes back to Nazareth from visiting her cousin and there is a Roman census, where you have to return to your home town. So Mary and Joseph make their way to Bethlehem and when they arrive the town is packed. So they are forced to say in a cave/stable which is where Jesus is born. After his birth they are visited by shepherds and magi from the East. I’ll have more reflection on  the actual nativity next week.

In all the Christmas songs tend to focus on the mother and child, neglecting Joseph, I searched and there are like three. A Strange Way to Save the World by 4Him, Joseph’s Lullaby by MercyMe and Joseph’s Song by Michael Card. Of the three I knew of only the last one before I searched. Joseph is the one member of the Holy Family that we tend to forget about. In Joseph’s Song its a prayer to God asking for help. “Where do I fit into your plan, How can I be father to the Son of God, I’m just a simple carpenter. How can I raise a king?” In A Strange Way to Save the World once again it’s asking question “Why me, Why Him, Why here, Why her?” Joseph’s Lullaby is different as it is a lullaby sung by Joseph to the baby Jesus. However these could be the concerns of man who has just become a father. In the Bible we have a different image of Joseph as he is barely there but he does what ever the Angel asks of him showing no doubt.

I hope that over this holiday season but really in general that many men can look to Joseph as an example of how to live their lives. In actuality Joseph is a perfect saint for both men and women to look toward as Francis de Sales, Teresa of Avila, and Therese of Lisieux did.